

SELECTION OF BILLS COMMITTEE

REPORT NO. 52 – 9 NOVEMBER 2021

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE

The Hon Shayne Mallard MLC, Chair

The Hon Mark Buttigieg MLC, Deputy Chair

The Hon Mark Banasiak MLC

Ms Abigail Boyd MLC

The Hon Anthony D'Adam MLC

Mr Justin Field MLC

The Hon Trevor Khan MLC

The Hon Mark Latham MLC

The Hon Natasha Maclaren-Jones MLC

Revd The Hon Fred Nile MLC

The Hon Mark Pearson MLC

Secretariat to the committee:

Ms Beverly Duffy, Clerk Assistant—Procedure (02 9230 3367)

Mr Alex Stedman, A/Director—Procedure (02 9230 2798)

The Selection of Bills Committee met on Tuesday 9 November to consider whether the following bills be referred to a standing committee for inquiry and report:

- Crimes Legislation Amendment (Sexual Consent Reforms) Bill 2021
- Customer Service Legislation Amendment Bill 2021
- Payroll Tax Amendment (Payroll Tax Waiver) Bill 2021
- Plastic Reduction and Circular Economy Bill 2021
- Crimes Legislation Amendment Bill 2021
- Road Transport Amendment (Prohibition of U-turns and 3-point Turns in School Zones) Bill 2021
- Crimes Amendment (Display of Nazi Symbols) Bill 2021

The committee makes the following recommendations:

- (1) That:
 - (a) the Crimes Amendment (Display of Nazi Symbols) Bill 2021 be referred to the Standing Committee on Social Issues for inquiry and report,
 - (b) the bill be referred to the committee at the conclusion of the mover's second reading speech,
 - (c) the resumption of the second reading debate on the bill not proceed until the tabling of the committee report,
 - (d) the committee report by the first sitting day in 2022.
- (2) That the following bills not be referred to a standing committee for inquiry and report, this day.
 - (a) Crimes Legislation Amendment (Sexual Consent Reforms) Bill 2021,
 - (b) Customer Service Legislation Amendment Bill 2021,
 - (c) Payroll Tax Amendment (Payroll Tax Waiver) Bill 2021,
 - (d) Plastic Reduction and Circular Economy Bill 2021,
 - (e) Crimes Legislation Amendment Bill 2021, and
 - (f) Road Transport Amendment (Prohibition of U-turns and 3-point Turns in School Zones) Bill 2021.

Shayne Mallard MLC

Chair

9 November 2021